Ohio Geriatric Academic Programs



Offices of geriatric medicine were created in 1978 in each of the State’s medical schools in response to legislation by the General Assembly of the State of Ohio.  The purpose of this legislation is “ . . . to establish offices of geriatric medicine at medical schools supported by the state, to further postgraduate study of geriatric medicine, and to provide for a study of needs in geriatric medicine.”  In addition, according to the Ohio Board of Regents revised mandates (1997) the Offices are also responsible for providing educational opportunities and consultation services in aging to other health and social service students and providers; strengthening didactic and clinical experiences in relevant post-graduate medical education programs; and enhancing the knowledge base in aging studies through scholarly activities in education, healthcare, delivery, and research.

Ohio Schools of Medicine

There are seven medical schools in Ohio that have Offices of Geriatrics that were created and supported by Ohio legislation:

  • Case Western Reserve University
  • Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Ohio University
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Toledo
  • Wright State University

Putting it into Practice

There is significant diversity among the Ohio medical schools in terms of curricular design, available resources, and clinical settings and therefore, each school pursues its own implementation pathway to assure that all medical students participate in comprehensive, high-quality educational experiences designed to help them develop the attitudes, knowledge, and skills critical for supporting the healthcare needs of their older patients.  

Ahead of the Times

Ohio is 1 of 2 states in the entire United States of America that supports geriatric education throughout the State of Ohio's 7 medical schools.